Key texts available from the library catalogue.
Check links for availability of titles or to place a hold.
Essential clinical skills : enrolled nurses by
Essential Clinical Skills (ECS) addresses the practical (skills) component of the Diploma of Nursing, HLT54121. Successful completion of the skills component is mandatory for accreditation. ECS links nursing theory to clinical practice and helps you to expand your skills and understanding of different care situations. Skills grids in the text help you to assess your own performance, gain feedback on your performance and maintain a personal record of skills you have practised. The text is used as a handbook, a set of checklists and as an assessment portfolio, in conjunction with a Foundations of Nursing text.
Additional texts available from the library catalogue.
Check links for availability of titles or to place a hold.
Leadership and nursing care management by
Develop your management and nursing leadership skills! Leadership & Nursing Care Management, 7th Edition focuses on best practices to help you learn to effectively manage interdisciplinary teams, client needs, and systems of care. A research-based approach includes realistic cases studies showing how to apply management principles to nursing practice. Arranged by American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) competencies, the text addresses topics such as staffing and scheduling, budgeting, team building, legal and ethical issues, and measurement of outcomes. Written by noted nursing educators Diane L. Huber and Maria Lindell Joseph, this edition includes new Next Generation NCLEX® content to prepare you for success on the NGN certification exam. UNIQUE! Organization of chapters by AONL competencies addresses leadership and care management topics by the five competencies integral to nurse executive roles. Evidence-based approach keeps you on the cutting edge of the nursing profession with respect to best practices. Critical thinking exercises at the end of each chapter challenge you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to a situation. Case studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management vignettes and illustrate how concepts can be applied to specific situations. Research Notes in each chapter summarize current research studies relating to nursing leadership and management. Full-color photos and figures depict concepts and enhance learning. NEW! Updates are included for information relating to the competencies of leadership, professionalism, communication and relationship building, knowledge of the healthcare environment, and business skills. NEW! Five NGN-specific case studies are included in this edition to align with clinical judgment content, preparing you for the Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination. NEW contributors - leading experts in the field - update the book's content.
The nurse mentor's handbook : supervising and assessing students in clinical practice by
This popular book is an essential companion for supporting and supervising student nurses in clinical practice. The book examines the theory of supervision and the underlying principles of teaching and assessment in nurse education and includes case studies, tools and interventions that can be used in clinical practice. Key areas covered include: • The new NMC standards for supervision and assessment, as well as the history and politics of student nurse mentorship • Effective practice supervision – the role of the supervisor and the practicalities such as the importance of forming effective working relationships and communication skills • Clear guidance on best teaching and assessment practice with practical examples and techniques • An examination the importance and methodology of giving good feedback • Fostering successful placement experiences and supporting a range of students with varying learning needs, including best practice in supporting a struggling student Fully updated in this third edition the book simplifies the theory, delivering practical guidance on best practice in student support and includes insights from students and supervisors. Danny Walsh was a mental health nurse for over 40 years and a senior nurse lecturer for more than 15. He has published widely in the fields of nurse education and dementia care.
Therapeutic communications for health care professionals by
Redesigned with you in mind, this fourth edition is the complete guide to patient interactions in today's clinical care settings. Effective communication can ease patient anxiety, increase compliance, and enhance health care interactions for all, especially when dealing with life-altering illness, death and dying, depression, substance abuse, and other situations where patient behaviors can be unpredictable. Inside each chapter, you will explore both the good and bad responses caregivers have to stressful scenarios, as well as techniques for improvement. And every chapter starts with a case study to bring life to the page, then reinforces communication strategies with more practice cases, boxed features, role-play exercises, and questions as you go. No matter the situation you face on the job, this book can prepare you with the soft skills you need to think critically on your feet and help patients cope.
Building professional nursing communication by
Establishing and building effective relationships are essential skills for safe nursing practice. Building Professional Nursing Communication guides students through the concepts integral to successful communication for nurses. Each chapter addresses communication theory and clearly demonstrates how it can be applied both to university studies and to professional nursing practice. Learning is extended further through case studies, practical scenarios and student learning activities. The book also addresses recent developments in online learning, covering information literacy, digital learning and consultation, as well as emerging forms of digital communication such as e-portfolios, blogs and new media. This book brings together authors from nursing and communication backgrounds, combining extensive research and practical experience in both fields. This diverse team mirrors the interdisciplinary nature of the nursing role in the increasingly contemporary healthcare sector. Building Professional Nursing Communication is an essential resource for nursing students throughout their entire degree.
Embracing empathy in healthcare : a universal approach to person-centred, empathic healthcare encounters by
This highly practical, user-friendly guide is based on a broad definition of relational empathy in the clinical context. With a clear focus on understanding the patient's situation, perspective and feelings, and communicating and acting on that understanding in beneficial way, the book establishes the flexible, person-centred CARE Approach. Connecting, Assessing, Responding and Empowering are the four interacting components of the CARE Approach, a flexible framework which has been specifically developed to help practitioners.
Looking for evidence to support best practice in line with the Australian National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards?
A PubMed live search will find articles from the last 5 years with a focus on the hospital setting. Click on 'more search options' in any box for specific subsets including: broader coverage of the topic, Australian focus, or Reviews
EBL e-book, login required. More information here
Episode #4: Discharge from hospital and clinical handover. by 
ISBAR is a tool created to aide the safe transfer of patient information in clinical handover.
 |
Download NSW Health's ISBAR app free from ITunes app store (app for other Android platforms is not yet availalble). |
New titles in the collection look at the importance of compassionate communication for our patients, our colleagues and ourselves.
Growing in to Autism by
Growing in to Autism is a book for all people, memorably conveying the need for better understanding and ways of making space for a group of individuals in our society who have so much to offer.
Hard to bear : investigating the science and silence of miscarriage by
"Every year miscarriage affects up to 150,000 Australians and the people that love them. So why are we so damned bad at dealing with it? A busy doctor dismissing a patient’s physical or mental pain, an emergency department falling far short of adequate care or a friend or family member who has no idea what to say so they say the worst thing of all. Sorrow and loss are compounded each step of the way. In Hard to Bear, journalist Isabelle Oderberg investigates the world’s most common pregnancy complication, from the origins of the silence that engulfs it, to the role played by medical misogyny in treatment, and why Reproductive Justice must be at the heart of every solution. Combining in-depth investigative skills with her own lived experience and that of hundreds of others, Oderberg charts a course to improve the system and change the lives of anyone directly or indirectly touched by early pregnancy loss, with practical and generous advice and suggestions along the way." -- Back cover.
How to treat people : a nurse's notes by
Weaving together medical history, art, memoir, and science, How to Treat People is a poignant memoir that explores the intricacies of the human condition. As a trainee nurse, Molly Case learns to care for her patients, sharing not only their pain, but also life-affirming moments of hope.
The following articles are excellent additional reading for Handover Skills and a couple are Nursing Standard's most read articles.
Source: NZNO library current awareness newsletter Issue 22 - 19 November 2021