Inspired by the authors' own experiences and written from their perspective
We're all neurodiverse : how to build a neurodiversity affirming future and challenge neuronormativity by
"Neurodiversity has helped me understand myself and provided a sense of relief that I'm a whole neurodivergent person functioning as my brain intends." "It's provided me with the language to advocate for myself." "I no longer hated myself. I no longer felt broken. I found a sense of community. A sense of belonging" This affirming and thoughtful guide outlines how and why we need to fundamentally shift our thinking about neurodivergent people. We need to accept differences rather than framing them as a problem, abnormality or disorder. Welcome to the neurodiversity paradigm. At times challenging and radical, Sonny Jane Wise explores the intersections of neurodivergence with disability, gender, sexuality and race. Through interviews, narratives, and the lens of their own raw experiences, they consider how current systems and structures that impact neurodivergent people are rooted in outdated capitalist and racist frameworks, and how these need to change and adapt to be neurodiversity affirming. Sonny Jane's words are a rallying cry to challenge the pathology paradigm. They offer nine principles for facilitating change, reflected in deeply personal stories from the neurodivergent community. Powerful and persuasive, this book is a clarion call for a kinder and more neurodiversity affirming society.
The pocket guide to neurodiversity by
At least one in seven people are thought to be neurodivergent. So what exactly is neurodiversity? What does 'executive functioning' mean? What are 'spiky profiles'? In this simple guide, expert speaker and trainer Daniel Aherne provides a clear introduction to neurodiversity and the four most common neurodivergent identities of autism, ADHD, dyslexia and dyspraxia. Using an analogy of a cactus needing a desert to grow in, he emphasises the importance of getting the environment right for neurodivergent people, rather than expecting them to adapt to the neurotypical world. Daniel, who himself has ADHD, also explains how neurodivergent people often have great strengths alongside areas of difficulty, and writes about the interplay between diagnoses, as well as unpacking tricky concepts such as working memory, sensory processing, communication differences and more. Busting common misconceptions and setting out simple tips and guidance for supporting the neurodivergent people around you, whether among your family, friends or at your school, college or workplace - or if you yourself are ND and want to improve the understanding of others - this essential guide will help us all celebrate neurodiversity and foster more inclusive communities.
Growing in to Autism by
From the outside looking in, Sandra Thom-Jones was living a successful life- she had a great career, a beautiful home, a caring husband, two loving sons and supportive friends. But from the inside looking out, she was struggling to make sense of her place in the world, constantly feeling overwhelmed and exhausted, and convinced that her challenges with daily life just meant that she had to try harder. In Growing In to Autism, Thom-Jones tells the story of gradually realizing that she was autistic, and that she experienced the world in ways which were markedly different from neurotypical people. This was a profound awakening - throughout her life she had been masking her true self and this effort had come at great physical, mental and emotional cost. Applying her skills as an experienced and expert researcher, Thom-Jones delved into the literature on autism in adults, learning much more than she already knew as a parent of two autistic boys. Part personal, funny, endearing and enlightening memoir, and part rigorous explication of the nature of autism, Growing in to Autism is a book for all people, memorably conveying the need for better understanding and ways of making space for a group of individuals in our society who have so much to offer.
Untypical : how the world isn't built for autistic people and what we should all do about it by
The modern world is built for neurotypicals: needless noise, bright flashing lights, small talk, phone calls, unspoken assumptions and unwritten rules -- it can be a nightmarish dystopia for the autistic population. In Untypical, Pete Wharmby lays bare the experience of being 'different', explaining with wit and warmth just how exhausting it is to fit in to a world not designed for you. But this book is more than an explanation. After a late diagnosis and a lifetime of 'masking', Pete is the perfect interlocutor to explain how our two worlds can meet, and what we can do for the many autistic people in our schools, workplaces and lives. The result: a practical handbook for all of us to make the world a simpler, better place for autistic people to navigate, and a call to arms for anyone who believes in an inclusive society and wants to be part of the solution. It’s time to remake the world - the ground-breaking book on what steps we should all be taking for the autistic people in our lives.
Is this autism? : a guide for clinicians and everyone else by
"Though our understanding of autism has greatly expanded, many autistic individuals are still missed or misdiagnosed. This highly-readable book clarifies the many ways that autism can present, particularly in people who camouflage in order to hide their autistic traits. The authors take the reader step-by-step through the diagnostic criteria, incorporating the latest research as well as quotes from over 100 autistic contributors that bring that research to life. They also describe the many aspects of autism that are not included in the current diagnostic criteria, such as autistic strengths and co-occurring disorders. Readers will learn about highly relevant topics, such as different types of empathy, sensory systems that are not well known, neuro-crash and burnout, and relative vs. absolute thinking. This book provides a deep, current, and neurodiversity-affirmative understanding of the less obvious presentations of autism. It is relevant to all healthcare professionals, educators, family members, autistic individuals, and anyone who is curious about autism"--
The adult autism assessment handbook : a neurodiversity-affirmative approach by
Adult autism assessment is a new and fast-growing clinical area, for which professionals often feel ill-equipped. Autistic adults are often misdiagnosed which has enormous implications for their mental health. This accessible and comprehensive adult autism assessment handbook covers the most up to date research and best practice around adult autism assessment, centering the person's internal experiences and sense-making in clinical assessment, rather than subjective observation, thus providing the clinician with a truly paradigm shifting Neuro-Affirmative approach to autism assessment. Traditional clinical assessment tools are comprehensively explored and unpacked to enable the clinician to have full confidence in aligning traditional criteria to the Autistic person's subjective experiences. Full of additional resources like language guidelines and an exploration of the common intersections between Autistic experience and the effects of trauma, mental health and more, this book supplies a breadth of knowledge on key areas that affect Autistic adults in everyday life. The mixed team of neurotypical and neurodivergent authors describe lived experience of Autistic adults, a how-to for conducting Neuro-Affirmative assessments and post-assessment support, alongside reflections from practice. This book also has a directory of further resources including downloadable forms that you can use to prepare for your own assessments and a downloadable deep dive into Autistic perception. This guide will also support professionals through every step of the assessment process.
Autism spectrum disorders : characteristics, causes & practical issues by
What are the historical foundations of autism and what precisely is meant by the 'autistic spectrum'? How can we explain behavioural patterns of people with autism, young or old, and what are the major theoretical bases for understanding these? What is the latest thinking regarding diagnosis, and what are the most effective strategies for assessment, education and care for people on the autistic spectrum? From historical information to methods of assessment, and from intervention to education and support, this informative and accessible text explores theories at the psychological, neurobiological and first cause; levels. This fully up to date Third Edition answers these questions with a strong practical focus, encompassing the latest research on autistic spectrum disorders. New features include: Further reading suggestions Glossary of technical terms Updated information on autism support services Personal illustrative examples Jill Boucher;is a retired academic psychologist; Her most recent post was Professor of Developmental Psychology at City, University of London.
Two ANMF (Vic Branch) member guides for flexible work arrangements (FWA) and reasonable adjustments are available to members. Login at Member assistance
A guide to reasonable adjustment requests
A guide to flexible work arrangements requests
Please read through our frequently asked questions. If you do not find the answer to your inquiry please submit a member assistance inquiry form.
The neurodiverse workplace : an employer's guide to managing and working with neurodivergent employees, clients and customers by
Estimates suggest that up to 20% of employees, customers and clients might have a neurodivergent condition - such as dyslexia, autism, Asperger's, ADHD or dyspraxia - yet these individuals often struggle to gain and maintain employment, despite being very capable. This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated. Employer responsibilities are highlighted, including the 2010 Equality Act, and a range of strategies and policies are provided, including recruitment advice and the benefits of neurodiverse employees, along with advice on physical environments, interaction and communication, and working with clients and customers. This book is an ideal resource for all employers wanting to support and empower people with specific needs to help create a more inclusive workplace, benefiting both neurodiverse individuals and the companies employing them.
Articles about neurodivergent masking and burnout
The ANMF library referred to the following resource in the creation of this guide:
Moseley, Jennifer (2023, September 15). Behind the mask: The lived experience of an autistic mental health nurse [Conference presentation]. Australian Nurses and Midwives Conference, Melbourne, Victoria. Australian Nurses and Midwives Conference Thursday 14 and Friday 15 September 2023
The Royal College of Nursing (RCN) UK has created a number of Neurodiversity Guidance resources for neurodivergent healthcare professionals and healthcare students and their managers, mentors, teams and union reps.
Neurodiversity: genius within. Created by Nancy Doyle, based on the work of Mary Colley
Credits:
Neurodiversity Network. (2020) Identify and enhance skills.
NIH. (2022). Neurodiversity. National Cancer Institute. Division of Cancer Epidemiology & Genetics
Do not pay for any articles, always check with the ANMF (Vic Branch) library. Submit an article request form (free for members)
Full text journals in CINAHL Ultimate (high quality)
Open Access journals
For assistance finding quality articles see the Finding journal articles online library resource guide
Do not pay for any articles, always check with the ANMF (Vic Branch) library. Submit an article request form (free for members)
CINAHL (short for the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is one of the largest and most in-depth nursing research databases. It provides full-text to over 935 nursing and allied health journals, with indexing for several thousand others. ANMF Victorian Branch members can access CINAHL Ultimate through the Members Menu:
If you are experiencing difficulty logging in, contact the Membership Department membership@anmfvic.asn.au