ANMF (Vic Branch) Library textbooks to support BSB40520 & BSB50420 (previously BSB42015 & BSB51918)) and other leadership and management studies.
Nursing leadership and management
A clinician's survival guide to leadership and management on the ward by 
Leadership and nursing care management by
Develop your management and nursing leadership skills! Leadership & Nursing Care Management, 7th Edition focuses on best practices to help you learn to effectively manage interdisciplinary teams, client needs, and systems of care. A research-based approach includes realistic cases studies showing how to apply management principles to nursing practice. Arranged by American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) competencies, the text addresses topics such as staffing and scheduling, budgeting, team building, legal and ethical issues, and measurement of outcomes. Written by noted nursing educators Diane L. Huber and Maria Lindell Joseph, this edition includes new Next Generation NCLEX® content to prepare you for success on the NGN certification exam. UNIQUE! Organization of chapters by AONL competencies addresses leadership and care management topics by the five competencies integral to nurse executive roles. Evidence-based approach keeps you on the cutting edge of the nursing profession with respect to best practices. Critical thinking exercises at the end of each chapter challenge you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to a situation. Case studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management vignettes and illustrate how concepts can be applied to specific situations. Research Notes in each chapter summarize current research studies relating to nursing leadership and management. Full-color photos and figures depict concepts and enhance learning. NEW! Updates are included for information relating to the competencies of leadership, professionalism, communication and relationship building, knowledge of the healthcare environment, and business skills. NEW! Five NGN-specific case studies are included in this edition to align with clinical judgment content, preparing you for the Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination. NEW contributors - leading experts in the field - update the book's content.
Project planning and management a guide for nurses and interprofessional teams by
Project Planning and Management: A Guide for Nurses and Interprofessional Teams, Third Edition serves as a primary resource for students developing and implementing clinical projects as a requirement for course completion. Additionally, the text also serves as a guide for faculty and preceptors who assist students in identifying clinical and management gaps as well as in initiating projects.The Third Edition focuses on planning and managing evidence-based projects, phases of implementation, and evaluation methods within the context of quality, safety, and value-based initiatives. Coverage of the expanded use of technology and the importance of designing project/program plans with explicit tools and tactics for success will also be outlined. A central theme woven throughout the text is the impact of outcomes that engage and inspire through dynamic projects. Readers of this text will also benefit from the real-world examples drawn from students, faculty, clinician, manager, and administrator experiences.
General leadership and management textbooks
A guide to the project management body of knowledge (PMBOK) / Agile Practice Guide Bundle by
To support the broadening spectrum of project delivery approaches, PMI is offering A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Sixth Edition as a bundle with its latest, the Agile Practice Guide. The PMBOK® Guide - Sixth Edition now contains detailed information about agile; while the Agile Practice Guide, created in partnership with Agile Alliance®, serves as a bridge to connect waterfall and agile. Together they are a powerful tool for project managers.
Management strategies and skills by 
Organisational behaviour : emerging knowledge, global insights by
The fourth edition of Organisational Behaviour: Emerging Knowledge, Global Insights continues to be both relevant and engaging while providing clear explanations of emerging OB theories and concepts. A range of practical examples prepare students for the changing global business environment.Individual, Team and Organisational processes taking into account self-concept, social networking and the need for creativity in organisations, as well as considering the business-wide issues including sustainability and business ethics, are covered in depth. Numerous real-life anecdotes are spread throughout the book illustrating how adopting a global mindset has become an important employee characteristic in this increasingly interconnected world.Interesting and thought-provoking real-world examples throughout the text illustrate concepts and motivate students to engage with the book's content. The book maintains a strong Pacific Rim focus while simultaneously presenting OB practices and anecdotes of international significance.Organisational Behaviour: Emerging Knowledge, Global Insights pioneers the view that OB is not just for managers; it is relevant and valuable to anyone who works in and around organisations.
The library has a small collection of e-books available on the EBook Central platform. To access e-books you will need to register for an account online.
The effective change manager's handbook : essential guidance to the change management body of knowledge by
The Effective Change Manager's Handbook helps practitioners, employers and academics define and practise change management successfully and develop change management maturity within their organization. A single-volume learning resource covering the range of knowledge required, it includes chapters from established thought leaders on topics ranging from benefits management, stakeholder strategy, facilitation, change readiness, project management and education and learning support. Endorsed by the Change Management Institute and the official guide to the CMI Body of Knowledge, The Effective Change Manager's Handbook covers the whole process from planning to implementation, offering practical tools, techniques and models to effectively support any change initiative. The editors of The Effective Change Manager's Handbook - Richard Smith, David King, Ranjit Sidhu and Dan Skelsey - are all experienced international consultants and trainers in change management. All four editors worked on behalf of the Change Management Institute to co-author the first global change management body of knowledge, The Effective Change Manager, and are members of the APMG International examination panel for change management.
To see more titles check out the EBook Central Library Resource Guide
Simon Sinek on Millennials in the Workplace (2016) ~15min
Books on transformational leadership and team building available to borrow from the ANMF (Vic Branch) Library.
The change makers : 25 leaders in their own words by
25 leaders who have driven positive change talk about what strong political leadership in Australia looks like Good leadership. Why is it so elusive? Are there successful traits that can be transferred from one field to another, or is it a constant application of imagination to the changing challenges? How do you take others with you? Now more than ever we need leaders who can be strong yet humble, bold and assertive when it counts but have the capacity to listen and learn, who can motivate and influence, and who can get the best out of those around them. Twenty-five outstanding Australian leaders-from diverse worlds such as science, the police force, a netball team, a spy agency, emergency medicine, business, politics and unionism-share their insights and lessons on the essence of inspiring leadership.
Leaders eat last : why some teams pull together and others don't by 
Dare to lead : brave work, tough conversations, whole hearts by 
Power play : game changing influence strategies for leaders by 
The emotionally intelligent team : understanding and developing the behaviors of success by Books on the psychology of individuals.
Wilful blindness : why we ignore the obvious by 
Drive : the surprising truth about what motivates us by 
Braving the wilderness : the quest for true belonging and the courage to stand alone by
* A timely and important book that challenges everything we think we know about cultivating true belonging in our communities, organizations, and culture, from the #1 bestselling author of Rising Strong, Daring Greatly, and The Gifts of Imperfection Look for Brené Brown's new podcast, Dare to Lead, as well as her ongoing podcast Unlocking Us! REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK "True belonging doesn't require us to change who we are. It requires us to be who we are." Social scientist Brené Brown, PhD, MSW, has sparked a global conversation about the experiences that bring meaning to our lives--experiences of courage, vulnerability, love, belonging, shame, and empathy. In Braving the Wilderness, Brown redefines what it means to truly belong in an age of increased polarization. With her trademark mix of research, storytelling, and honesty, Brown will again change the cultural conversation while mapping a clear path to true belonging. Brown argues that we're experiencing a spiritual crisis of disconnection, and introduces four practices of true belonging that challenge everything we believe about ourselves and each other. She writes, "True belonging requires us to believe in and belong to ourselves so fully that we can find sacredness both in being a part of something and in standing alone when necessary. But in a culture that's rife with perfectionism and pleasing, and with the erosion of civility, it's easy to stay quiet, hide in our ideological bunkers, or fit in rather than show up as our true selves and brave the wilderness of uncertainty and criticism. But true belonging is not something we negotiate or accomplish with others; it's a daily practice that demands integrity and authenticity. It's a personal commitment that we carry in our hearts." Brown offers us the clarity and courage we need to find our way back to ourselves and to each other. And that path cuts right through the wilderness. Brown writes, "The wilderness is an untamed, unpredictable place of solitude and searching. It is a place as dangerous as it is breathtaking, a place as sought after as it is feared. But it turns out to be the place of true belonging, and it's the bravest and most sacred place you will ever stand."
The 7 habits of highly effective people : powerful lessons in personal change by 
Quiet : the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by 
Getting to yes : negotiating an agreement without giving in by A visual concept of the degrees of caring, engagement and the intention behind it.
Credit: DesignerUp. (2019). UX design and empathy, are we doing it right?
Recently added titles to the ANMF library collection:
The neurodiverse workplace : an employer's guide to managing and working with neurodivergent employees, clients and customers by
Estimates suggest that up to 20% of employees, customers and clients might have a neurodivergent condition - such as dyslexia, autism, Asperger's, ADHD or dyspraxia - yet these individuals often struggle to gain and maintain employment, despite being very capable. This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated. Employer responsibilities are highlighted, including the 2010 Equality Act, and a range of strategies and policies are provided, including recruitment advice and the benefits of neurodiverse employees, along with advice on physical environments, interaction and communication, and working with clients and customers. This book is an ideal resource for all employers wanting to support and empower people with specific needs to help create a more inclusive workplace, benefiting both neurodiverse individuals and the companies employing them.
Strengthening leadership and management skills CPD workshop at ANMF (Vic Branch) Education Centre
These articles can be viewed online. For assistance or copies of articles please contact library staff.
Submit an article request form (free for members)
Submit an article request form (free for members)
Source: NZNO library current awareness newsletter Issue 22 - 19 November 2021
