Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book titles on research skills & evidence-based practice
Key texts available from the library catalogue.
Check title links for availability or to place a hold.
The essential guide to doing your research project by The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world. The Third Edition uses multidisciplinary case studies, and examples from the author's own experience, to answer your questions and support your progress as you move smoothly through each stage. With a new chapter on mixed methods approaches, more on disseminating research, more on the practical and legal implications of ethics and more international examples, the book is packed full of learning features and tools to support your journey, including: A fully-developed website with podcasts, videos, journal articles and examples of real projects Activities and worksheets to help you organize your time Learning objectives to sustain your momentum Top tips relating to key research skills Full glossary to test understanding and provide definitions Annotated further reading to help you move through the literature 'Excuse me, I have a question!' feature to answer common questions. Warm, innovative and clever, this book is packed full of must-have information for anyone doing a research project.
Call Number: 610.73073 OLE 2017
Interactive online tutorial to develop your research skills
The ANMF Vic Branch Library has developed an interactive online tutorial to support members find relevant research articles using the CINAHL Database. CINAHL is the key nursing literature database, and allows searching across a huge number of relevant journals.
Step-by-step database searching tips will teach you how to access CINAHL and use it effectively to discover relevant articles related to a workplace problem or learning goal. It covers accessing CINAHL, building & reviewing a search strategy, retrieving full-text articles, and submitting an interlibrary loan request.
Ebooks on nursing research & evidence-based practice
To access ebooks on the EBook Central platform please register for an account.
Journals for Research Skills
Access the following journals either through the ANMF journal collection or the CINAHL database (accessible through the ANMF Vic Branch Member Portal
Evidence-based practice podcasts
Evidence-Based Nursing podcast by BMJ
Published quarterly, the purpose of Evidence-Based Nursing is to select from the health-related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice.
Relevant websites on nursing research & evidence-based practice
Click on the weblinks to view relevant information for Research Skills
Nursing research & evidence-based practice news on Twitter