Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to articles in the following databases is available onsite at the ANMF Library. Beside each link are short, recently created Basic and Advanced Search YouTube tutorials or podcast produced by the publishers.
Open Access databases
Australasian Cochrane Centre
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based databases, including over 5000 Cochrane reviews published in The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. These reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All BioMed Central 266 open access journals are peer reviewed and the full contents are available online, immediately without charge (open access)
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLos is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians that publishes peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals. All PLoS articles are immediately freely accessible online, and are deposited in the free public archive PubMed Central.
What is a database?
A database is a collection of information, mostly journal articles, arranged in individual records which can be searched by a computer.
Some journal databases also include conference papers, reports and other types of information.
This short animation created by RMIT explains library databases from a student's perspective, 2012. Copyright © RMIT
Trip (Turning Research into Practice) Medical database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users quick and easy access to high-quality evidence based research.
Trip also allows users to search across other content types including images, videos and patient information leaflets.
PubMed build a search
PubMed is an excellent free version of Medline from the National Library of Medicine in the United States.
Click on the link below to access the PubMed 'conduct a search' Tutorial.
Primary Health Care search Filter
The PHC Search has filtered topics making quick & easy access to health care literature providing results from the PubMed database.
PHC Search Filter
Quick & easy access to primary health care literature using real-time searches of the current PubMed database
Other subscription databases
All residents of Victoria will have access to a suite of online databases through the State Library of Victoria (SLV)
Members who are health professionals working in public healthcare in Victoria have access to an excellent suite of resources in the Clinicians Health Channel
Clinicians Health Channel
Access high-quality Australian and international decision-making resources and evidence-based tools that help care for patients