LibGuides: Library Resource Guides: Developing and implementing care plans

Book titles on care plans

Key texts available from the library catalogue.

Check links for availability of titles or to place a hold.

Nursing Care Plans by Meg Gulanick; Judith L. Myers 10th ed.
Call Number: 616.075 GUL 2021
Tabbner's Nursing Care 2 Vol Set by Gabrielle Koutoukidis (Editor); Kate Stainton (Editor) 8th ed.
Call Number: 616.075 TAB 2020
Health assessment in nursing by Peter Lewis & David Foley
Call Number: 616.075 LEW 2020
All-in-one nursing care planning resource : medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health by Pamela Swearingen
Call Number: 616.075 SWE 2016
Potter and Perry's Fundamentals of Nursing (5th edition) by edited by Jackie Crisp et. al.
Call Number: 610.73076 CRI 2017

Ebooks for Implement a Care Plan

To access e-books on the EBook Central platform please register for an account.

Essential clinical skills : enrolled nurses by Tollefson, Watson, Jelly & Tambree fth ed.
Call Number: 610.730994 TOL 2022
Nursing diagnosis manual : planning, individualizing, and documenting client care by Marilynn E. Doenges
ISBN: 9781719647700
Publication Date: 2022
Clinical Companion : Medical-Surgical Nursing by McKenzie & Porter
Publication Date: 2014
Nursing care plans : diagnoses, interventions, and outcomes, by Meg Gulanick & Judith Myers (2013) 8th ed.

Useful information for Implement a Care Plan

Patient assessment

Menzies-Gow, E. (2018). How to record a 12-lead electrocardiogram. Nursing Standard. doi: 10.7748/ns.2018.e11066. Full text

Patient deterioration

Mayo, P.(2017).Undertaking an accurate and comprehensive assessment of the acutely ill adult. Nursing Standard 32(8):53-63. Full text

Constipation management

Collins & O'Brien (2015). Prevention and management of constipation in adults. Nursing Standard 29(32):49-58. Full text (onsite only).

Managing nutrition in older people

Best, C., & Hitchings, H. (2015). Improving nutrition in older people in acute care. Nursing Standard, 29(47), 50. Full text (onsite only).

Care planning for progressive neurological conditions

Kent, A. (2015). Advance care planning in progressive neurological conditions. Nursing Standard, 29(21), 51. Full text (onsite only).

Managing COPD

Hodson, M., & Sherrington, R. (2014). Treating patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Nursing Standard, 29(9), 50. Full text (onsite only).

Offsite? Submit an article request to the ANMF (Vic Branch) Library

Useful websites

NMHRC: Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal
Hospital-acquired complications (HACs) information kit fact sheets
From the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. Includes sheets on pressure injuries, falls, delirium, medication complications, and other hospital-acquired complications.
NHS (UK) 10 key characteristics of ‘good nutrition and hydration care’
National Safety and Quality Service Standards Comprehensive care tools and resources
Worksafe (2009) Transferring people safely: a handbook for workplaces
This publication provides a practical guide to managing risk, including handling patients, residents and clients in health, aged care, rehabilitation and disability services. It has been specifically developed to help those working in health services to reduce the incidence and severity of injuries resulting from manual handling (2009).