Electronic books purchased on ProQuest's EBook Central platform are mostly nursing set texts and highly recommended titles.
Search the ANMF Vic library e-book collection (search, log in, then see your results).
Recently added titles to the ANMF Vic EBook Central platform (purchased March 2024)
Notes on... caring by
NOTES ON... CARING Discover the connection between care and healing with this transformative book Care is often regarded as fundamental to the nursing profession, almost synonymous. The relationship between care and nursing is presented as though no further explanation is required, no theorisation of what it means to care, and no elaboration of the role played by care in nursing as a profession and a practice. Given the agreed-upon centrality of care to nursing, there is an urgent need for a work analysing this key relationship and what it can mean for nursing professionals. Notes On... Caring meets this need with a clear, concise discussion of caring in the healthcare context. Beginning from the premise that care is essential to fostering the health and healing of others, it sets out to clarify the subject and articulate an ethic of care that can be cultivated in nursing and medical practice. With the COVID-19 pandemic placing nursing care more than ever at the forefront of public health, there has never been a better time to understand what it means for nurses to care. This book is ideal for all nurses, midwives, and other medical professionals or students.
Copyright © Shutterstock
Students using iPads, iPhones or Android devices can download and read EBook Central content using the Bluefire Reader program.
If you want to read the e-books offline you need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed. You will be asked to create a free Adobe ID.
Please note some publishers will restrict the use of copying and printing from the collection. The following is a general guide.
Note taking
Notes can be created on any page in the Online Reader, just visit the 'Notes' tab. Once created, Notes can be accessed via the Bookmarks button on your EBook Central Bookshelf, or via the Bookmarks tab on the corresponding book's details page.
Printing
The DRM (Digital Rights Management) restrictions on each e-book restrict the amount of content that you can print and copy when you read an e-book online. While printing and copying is restricted, the percentages are quite generous for each e-book.
Copy and pasting
Copying and pasting limits are set at the discretion of the publisher. It is generally restricted to 5% of the total pages of the e-book.
These titles can be read on the EBook Central platform.
Popular e-book titles
Renal nursing : care and management of people with kidney disease by
Now in its fifth edition, Renal Nursing continues to be the essential evidence-based guide to nephrology and kidney care for nurses and allied health care professionals. This comprehensive text examines the stages of chronic kidney disease, pre-dialysis care, acute kidney injury, renal replacement therapy, renal nutrition, renal care in children and young people and more. Offers thorough coverage of all major aspects of kidney care Includes updated content on current practice, changes in policies, care and management, with the latest research evidence and current NICE guidance on renal replacement therapy Has an innovative chapter on patient and public involvement in kidney care Renal Nursing is an indispensable resource for nurses working in nephrology, dialysis and transplantation, nurses in post-registration renal courses, student nurses in renal wards, specialist renal dietitians, pharmacists and other allied health professionals in related fields.
Kozier and Erb's fundamentals of nursing : concepts, processes and practice by
Authors: Audrey Berman, Geralyn Frandsen, Shirlee Snyder, Tracy Levett-Jones, Adam Burston, Trudy Dwyer, Majella Hales, Nichole Harvey, Lorna Moxham, Tanya Langtree, Kerry Reid-Searl, Flora Rolf, David Stanley
The 5th Australian edition Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing continues to setting the foundation for nursing excellence amid ongoing changes to the regulation of nursing. For undergraduate nurses, the product covers key concepts in contemporary nursing such as delivering inclusive nursing practice, as well as discussing the latest nursing evidence, standards, and competencies. Aligned with current nursing standards, the 5th edition helps students link their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice. New to this edition Updated Research Notes, Real World features and images to reflect contemporary Australian and New Zealand research, clinician stories and evidence-based practice. Updated to include recent changes to the NSQHS standards, including: Comprehensive care Communication for safety mental health and cognitive impairment health literacy, end-of-life care and, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health. The Patient Safety Competency Framework (PSCF) for Nursing Students are integrated throughout the chapters, with practical examples on how the safety domains can be applied in practice. Addition of a new chapter focused on Disability, allowing for a more thorough understanding of disability and how it is related to different topics of nursing The Fundamentals of Care Framework is integrated throughout, showing how each of the three dimensions can be applied to nursing practice by way of application to case study questions throughout the text. Learning outcomes and examples are mapped to the relevant Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) Registered Nurse Standards for Practice and Patent Safety Competency Framework document.
Skills in clinical nursing by
The new edition of Skills in Clinical Nursing continues to provide a primary Australian resource to prepare undergraduate nursing students to become competent nurses. The text helps students learn to link theory to practice, underpinning industry requirements and preparing them for clinical placement and employment. The new edition is relevant, with the latest research and applicable to the Australian context.
Essential pathophysiology for nursing and healthcare students by
Essential Pathophysiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is the perfect quick reference and study guide for students covering pathophysiology, disease and therapeutics as part of a nursing or other healthcare course. It clearly and simply explains the underpinning processes of disease, covering cellular physiology, genetics, fluids, electrolytes and the immune system, and the main diseases and conditions that can occur within each. Each chapter is written in a quick reference format so it can be used for study, exam preparation or use on student placement. The book covers body systems including: Cardiovascular Respiratory Immune Lymphatic Nervous Digestive Endocrine Reproductive Developed with the reader in mind, each chapter includes clinical tips, case studies, diagrams, and self-assessment questions to make pathophysiology accessible and digestible - this is a must-have book for students of nursing and healthcare. "Essential Pathophysiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a book that should be kept no further than an arm's reach away. The book is easy to navigate and easy to understand. Nursing and healthcare students will find that this book is essential in helping them comprehend and learn about the systems and mechanisms of the human body in health and ill health. This book would also be a good read for anybody working with or teaching students as a refresher on pathophysiology." Rebecca Bailey-McHale, Lecturer, Faculty of Health and Social Care, University of Chester, UK "This detailed but accessible book covers this subject in sufficient depth to give a good understanding of the topic without becoming overwhelming. As well as giving the evidence behind the text, this is a good resource if more in-depth reading is required. The authors have succeeded in writing a quick reference book that is remarkably in-depth and easy to read. This book would be suitable for any healthcare student who needs an understanding of the concept of pathophysiology however it would also be relevant for those seeking a general overview of the subject or more senior staff who wish to consolidate or refresh their knowledge." Rebecca Myatt, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Fundamentals of applied pathophysiology : an essential guide for nursing and healthcare students by
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology is designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, providing a straightforward, jargon-free, accessible introduction to pathophysiology. Highly visual and written specifically for students, the second edition of this best-selling textbook provides clear explanations of the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology. To make study easier, the book includes learning outcomes, a range of activities to test learning, key words, end-of-chapter glossaries, and clinical case scenarios, and is supported by an online resource centre with further activities and exercises. Key Features: Superb full colour illustrations, bringing this subject to life Full of extra features to help improve the learning process, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading and learning outcomes New case studies throughout to help you understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Supported by an online resource centre at www.wiley.com/go/fundamentalsofappliedpathophysiology with fantastic extras for both lecturers and students, including an image bank, interactive multiple choice questions, true/false exercises, word-searches, glossary flash-cards, label-the diagram activities, and more!
Principles of anatomy and physiology by
Anatomy and physiology students face the challenge of synthesising a lot of information into conceptual understanding. Principles of Anatomy and Physiology, 1st Asia-Pacific edition,empowers them to improve their learning outcomes and have a great time navigating through a remarkable local tour of the human body! This title provides an excellent introduction to anatomy and physiology, and helps you answer a variety of questions including: How did cutting-edge research by the University of Queensland create the cervical cancer vaccine? Why do fast bowlers and ballet dancers frequently suffer from stress fractures? How does the All Blacks' Haka stimulate nerve impulses? Why do Australia and New Zealand have the highest rates of melanoma in the world?
Professional transitions in nursing : a guide to practice in the Australian healthcare system by
Written by clinical lecturers, Professional Transitions in Nursing provides a practical and accessible guide to the core knowledge and skills required by nurse graduates entering the Australian workforce for the first time. Part I focuses on the structure of the Australian healthcare system and the national competency standards. The authors examine key issues including ethics, law and codes of conduct as well as the leadership, team-building and communication skills necessary in a constantly changing and high-pressure environment. Part II outlines the clinical skills and practices a nurse graduate must master including clinical assessment, risk management and reporting, management plans, diagnostics reasoning, collaboration with other health professionals and working with patients from diverse backgrounds. A special feature is an analysis of issues in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nursing practice. The authors also outline health information systems and technologies and how to utilise these most effectively. Part III looks at career planning and lifelong learning with advice on applying for a nursing position and continual professional development. This is an essential reference for both nursing graduates and overseas qualified nurses seeking to pursue a career in Australia. 'This text will be of tremendous use to new graduate nurses, nurses relocating from overseas and those of us who support these nurses during their transitions. The language is easily accessible and important content about everyday nursing practice is discussed in a practical and logical way. A particular strength is the use of research to support key points of discussion.' Professor Andrea Marshall, Professor of Acute and Complex Care Nursing, Griffith University 'This book is a must-have for undergraduates, newly graduated and overseas qualified registered nurses entering the Australian healthcare workforce for the first time. Written by experienced nurses, the book provides essential up-to-date information that is presented in an easily accessible way. I highly recommend this book.' Associate Professor Jacqueline Bloomfield, Sydney Nursing School, University of Sydney 'For educators supporting student, new graduate and international graduate nurses, this text will be an important resource and is superbly structured to guide curriculum development and delivery.' Dr Danny Hills, Senior Lecturer, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Monash University
The effective change manager's handbook : essential guidance to the change management body of knowledge by
The Effective Change Manager's Handbook helps practitioners, employers and academics define and practise change management successfully and develop change management maturity within their organization. A single-volume learning resource covering the range of knowledge required, it includes chapters from established thought leaders on topics ranging from benefits management, stakeholder strategy, facilitation, change readiness, project management and education and learning support. The Effective Change Manager's Handbook covers the whole process from planning to implementation, offering practical tools, techniques and models to effectively support any change initiative. The editors of The Effective Change Manager's Handbook - Richard Smith, David King, Ranjit Sidhu and Dan Skelsey - are all experienced international consultants and trainers in change management. All four editors worked on behalf of the Change Management Institute to co-author the first global change management body of knowledge, The Effective Change Manager, and are members of the APMG International examination panel for change management.
To access EBook Central e-books you will need to register for an account online.
The library will need to check your Vic Branch membership before approving your request so we recommend registering during library opening hours.
From then on you will need to login every time you want to read EBook Central e-books.
The library has a small collection of e-books to support nursing study and clinical skills.
Featured titles
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (DSM-5®) by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Pharmacology mind maps for medical students and allied health professionals by
Pharmacology Mind Maps is meant as a concise companion for the pharmacology students, enabling them to revise the subject in a short time through the innovative and effective technique of mind maps, after understanding the subject from a standard reference textbook. This handy manual provides the subject information in a condensed form, helping in last minute revision. Mind mapping is slowly taking over traditional methods and techniques and is explored extensively for a subject like pharmacology which is both an essential as well as a difficult subject to master for a medical student. This book will thus help the students to read, revise and recollect the subject easily and rapidly.
Code white : sounding the alarm on violence against health care workers by
When health care workers call a Code White, it's an emergency response for a violent incident: a call for help. But it's one that goes unanswered in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care homes across the country. Code Whiteexposes a shocking epidemic of violence that's hidden in plain sight, one in which workers are bruised, battered, assaulted, and demeaned, but carry on in silence, with little recourse or support. Researchers Margaret M. Keith and James T. Brophy lay bare the stories of over one hundred nurses and personal support workers, aides and porters, clerical workers and cleaners. The nightmarish experiences they relate are not one-off incidents, but symptoms of deep systemic flaws that have transformed health care into one of the most dangerous occupational sectors in Canada. The same questions echo in the wake of each and every brutal encounter: Is violence and trauma really just "part of the job"? Why is this going underreported and unchecked? What needs to be done, and how?
Transgender health : a practitioner's guide to binary and non-binary trans patient care by
BMA Medical Book Awards Finalist The number of people coming out as transgender continues to rise, and this book shows healthcare and medical practitioners how to deliver excellent primary and secondary care to gender diverse patients. This guide provides accessible and practical advice on tailoring the social and ethical aspects of practice to the needs of each individual. Beyond setting out how clinical procedures should work for gender reassignment, it explains how to use language and pronouns in a respectful way, provides information on transgender services and resources, and offers insights into the challenges commonly faced by transgender people in both medical and social contexts. Based on cutting edge research and the lived experience of the author as a non-binary person, this is essential reading for all those working to meet the needs of transgender people in healthcare settings.
Understanding trans health : discourse, power and possibility by
What does it mean for someone to be 'trans'? What are the implications of this for healthcare provision? Drawing on the findings of an extensive research project, this book addresses urgent challenges and debates in trans health. It interweaves patient voices with social theory and autobiography, offering an innovative look at how shifting language, patient mistrust, waiting lists and professional power shape clinical encounters, and exploring what a better future might look like for trans patients.
Comprehensive lactation consultant exam review by
Comprehensive Lactation Consultant Exam Review, Fourth Edition is an ideal reference to help prepare for the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) certification examination. Completely updated and revised, the Fourth Edition follows the latest IBLCE Detailed Content Outline, contains more than 950 practice exam questions and answer rationales, more than 300 photos, and 20 actual clinical case studies. Organized around the mother-baby dyad's development, it poses questions unique to each particular stage. This review guide is perfect for beginning lactation consultants and those re-certifying, as well as dietitians, childbirth educators, nurses, and breastfeeding counselors.
Stories of resilience in nursing: tales from the frontline of nursing by
Ideas about resilience and identity continue to be promoted, discussed and debated in nursing. This book uses narratives to explore these complex and important concepts, unsettling our certainties and opening up new perspectives on what they might mean and involve. This engaging book recounts direct and vivid stories told by or about nurses. These vignettes discuss nursing's ideals without idealising them and show nursing work and the lives of nurses in all their complexity. They include contributions from mental health nurses, a former nurse, student nurses, a migrant nurse and a whistle-blowing nurse, among others. The book ends with chapter-by-chapter contextual material to promote reflection, discussion and further reading. Written with nursing students preparing to transition to the workplace and professional status in mind, this thought-provoking book is also suitable for nurses and nurse academics interested in resilience and issues around professional identity.
Birthing outside the system : the canary in the coal mine by
This book investigates why women choose 'birth outside the system' and makes connections between women's right to choose where they birth and violations of human rights within maternity care systems. Choosing to birth at home can force women out of mainstream maternity care, despite research supporting the safety of this option for low-risk women attended by midwives. When homebirth is not supported as a birthplace option, women will defy mainstream medical advice, and if a midwife is not available, choose either an unregulated careprovider or birth without assistance. This book examines the circumstances and drivers behind why women nevertheless choose homebirth by bringing legal and ethical perspectives together with the latest research on high-risk homebirth (breech and twin births), freebirth, birth with unregulated careproviders and the oppression of midwives who support unorthodox choices. Stories from women who have pursued alternatives in Australia, Europe, Russia, the UK, the US, Canada, the Middle East and India are woven through the research. Insight and practical strategies are shared by doctors, midwives, lawyers, anthropologists, sociologists and psychologists on how to manage the tension between professional obligations and women's right to bodily autonomy. This book, the first of its kind, is an important contribution to considerations of place of birth and human rights in childbirth.
Check the Adobe forum to get answers to some of your questions or issues about the Adobe Digital Editions program.
